How to Delete Viewing History on Hulu

Hulu users might not be aware of how they can delete their entire Hulu viewing history from their website or from the application. Now there could be many reasons why anyone would want to delete their Hulu history, especially when you are sharing your Hulu account with someone else.

Reason Number 1

You have watched something that you don’t want your parents to see or know. Or, you watched something and since you share the account with your children, you feel like it might not be appropriate for them to watch.

Reason Number 2

It might have happened once or twice that you watched something on Hulu and content similar to that one kept appearing on your suggestion list. Sometimes these suggestions can go over the top, and to remove those kinds of suggestions from your Hulu screen is by either manually removing them or, deleting your history so that Hulu does not show these shows or movies on your account anymore.

How to Delete Your History

Deleting your viewing history is very easy. Just follow the steps as mentioned below and your Hulu account will be clean like a newly made account. Once you have deleted the history, the suggestions that you previously received by Hulu will automatically change or disappear, as they only show content related to your Hulu viewing history and the shows marked by you.

  1. Sign in to your Hulu account. Working with the website from a computer or laptop might be easier as you’d see everything more appropriately.
    This is what your Hulu account should look like when you sign in.
  2. Towards the right top corner of your screen, you can notice your name, or the profiles name you are currently using. Each profile on Hulu can have its viewing history deleted, by opening that profile on Hulu. Here, next to the K, as seen in the image above, is where I will click to find a tab for History. Clicking on this will lead you to your viewing history, showing you all the shows that you or your partner has ever watched from this specific profile. There are two ways to go about it. You can either go on each viewed history tab and delete the show or, you can click on the remove all videos on the top left corner of the screen to delete your history on Hulu as shown in the image below.
    A lot of times you open a show just to see what it is about and close it the minute you feel bored or not entertained. But these shows still show in your history for Hulu, because of which, you get suggestions related to the genre of the show. Such shows can be deleted from your Hulu viewing history by clicking the delete icon (which is the dustbin-like icon as shown in the image).

Once you have deleted specific shows or the entire history on Hulu, your Hulu account will appear as though you have just signed up for it. To be honest, the viewing history helps you keep shows that interest you the most on top of the page so that you don’t have to go deeper to look for them. Deleting your entire viewing history means you’ll have to do it all over again. In my opinion, if it is not such a big issue to keep your viewing history, then don’t delete it. Otherwise, you now know how to go about it.

Habiba Rehman
Major love for reading, but writing is what keeps me going. Dream to publish my own novels someday.