Most Messengers users will be aware of the “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” message. This message appears when a user is unable to send a message to someone on Messenger. However, there is not a single specific reason, that this message will appear. We have listed several reasons to which this issue can occur and also provided methods for checking them out.
There could be a couple of reasons that the “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” message appears in your Messenger. Here’s a list of several reasons due to which a user will see the following message and will be unable to message:
- Blocked by a user – One of the most common reasons is when the person you are messaging has blocked you from Messenger or Facebook. It will be similar if you have blocked the user from your side by mistake. Due to this, you will be unable to send any message and you will see the “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” message.
- The user has a deactivated account – As it turns out if the user you are messaging has deactivated their Messenger and Facebook, then you can’t message them. You will see the “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” message until they reactivate their account again.
- An account terminated by Facebook – Lastly, if Facebook terminated the account of the user, then you will be unable to message them on Messenger.
Now that you are familiar with the following reasons due to which you will be unable to message your friend, you can try the following methods to check which of the reason is applying for you.
Checking if User Has Blocked You
The first thing you need to do is to check if the user has blocked you or not. If the user has blocked you, then you will see a “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” error when messaging. You can follow the below steps to check if you are blocked or not:
- First of all, open your Facebook and search for the profile of the user that you are trying to message by using the search feature.
- If you are unable to find the profile of the user, then try searching the profile from another Facebook account. You can also use a friend’s account to check through.
- Now if the account shows up on a friend’s account, then it means the user has blocked you on Messenger and Facebook.
Checking if User has Deactivated their Facebook Account
Another reason would be if the user has deactivated or deleted their Facebook and Messenger accounts. You cannot find out if the account is deleted or just deactivated. However, you can confirm this by checking it through the different accounts as stated below:
- Open your Facebook application and search for the account of the user you are trying to message.
- If you can’t find the user, then try searching for the user from a friend’s account. If the account can’t be found through any other ID, then it means the user has deactivated their account or account was banned from Facebook.
- You can also try checking the account from several different IDs to make sure. Try checking from any of the accounts on their friend’s list or friends of friends.
Note: Sometimes the account can be hidden from public search and only will be visible to friends or friends of friends.
Making Sure You haven’t Blocked the User
Sometimes by mistake, you may have blocked someone on your friend list. This will also show a similar message to you on Messenger. You can easily check if you have blocked someone by following the below steps:
- Open the Messenger application and find the chat where you see the “This Person is Unavailable on Messenger” message.
- Tap and hold on to the chat to see different options for the chat. If you see the Block option, then it means that the user is not blocked.
- However, if you see the Unblock option, then that means you have blocked the person and should unblock before messaging. You can tap on Unblock option and start messaging again without any issue.