How to Upload Photos or Videos Stored on Your Device to Snapchat

Making Memories with Snapchat

Back in what now might as well be known as the Dark Ages, the only photos or videos Snapchat users could send to their contacts via the application and share to their Snapchat stories were photos or videos captured using the Snapchat application and its camera. The ability to upload photos or videos stored locally on your device to Snapchat simply didn’t exist. Then, to the delight of millions of Snapchat users, came third-party applications capable of allowing users to share photos and videos that were captured using a camera other than the one Snapchat comes with to the famous social media platform. These third-party applications, however, were found to be in violation of Snapchat’s Terms of Use and were therefore banned by Snapchat – not that the third-party applications were meticulously developed and flawless, though.

It was around this time that the folks at Snapchat realized just how ridiculous the fact that users could only share photos or videos captured using Snapchat’s onboard camera was. Following this epiphany, Snapchat developed a feature known as Memories and integrated it into the Snapchat application. The Memories feature keeps track of both photos and videos captured using the Snapchat camera that you later decided to save to your device’s memory and photos and videos captured using your device’s stock camera or third-party camera applications that are locally stored on your device.

The Memories feature can, consequently, be used to play around with and then share any photo or video, regardless of its origin, that is stored locally in your device’s Camera Roll (or other folder) via Snapchat both as a personal message to one or more contacts or as your Snapchat story. This ingenious feature, which is nothing short of a godsend, can be used to save photos or videos captured using the Snapchat camera to your device’s storage and access, manipulate and share photos or videos stored on your device’s storage.

Accessing Snapchat’s Memories

In order to be able to use the Memories feature Snapchat has, you need to be able to first access it. The Memories feature was introduced in the form of completely new real estate within the Snapchat application. Regardless of what Operating System you’re using Snapchat on, you can access the Memories feature if you simply:

  1. Open the Snapchat app on your device.
  2. Make sure that you are on the Camera tab. When you launch Snapchat, it launches with the Camera tab front and center, but if you had your device pull up an already running instance of Snapchat, it might open with a different tab on display. If that is the case, you can simply swipe left or right to make your way to the Camera tab.
  3. Tap on the small image icon located directly beneath the Capture button on the Camera tab. Encapsulated within this icon will be a very small thumbnail of your most recent memory.

When you do so, a screen labeled Memories will slide up from the bottom of your screen. This screen will be divided into different tabs such as All – the tab that displays thumbnails for every single photo or video captured using the Snapchat camera that you have saved to your device’s storage, and Camera Roll – the tab that contains every single photo or video stored on your device regardless of origin or storage location.

Uploading Photos or Videos from Memories to Snapchat

If you know how to access the Memories feature on Snapchat, you can move on to learning how to actually use it. If you would like to upload photos or videos stored locally on your device to Snapchat using the Memories feature, you need to be able to navigate the intricacies of the feature, so here’s how you can go about doing so:

  1. As stated before, the Memories screen will have multiple tabs. The ones you need to concern yourself with are the All tab and the Camera Roll tab. If you would like to share on Snapchat a photo or video you captured using Snapchat’s camera, the All tab if where you’ll want to be. However, if you’re looking to share a photo or video that was not captured using Snapchat’s camera to the social media platform, you need to switch to the Camera Roll tab.
  2. In the Camera Roll tab, you will see every single photo or video that exists on your device’s onboard storage. Locate and tap on the photo or video you want to share via Snapchat or put up as your Snapchat story. Doing so will open a preview of the photo or video.
  3. If you want to share the photo or video as it is, tap on the blue Send button in the bottom-right corner of your screen. If, however, you want to make optional edits to the photo or video using Snapchat’s popular editing tools before you share it, tap on the three vertically aligned white dots in the top-right corner of your screen and tap on Edit Photo or Edit Video in the resulting context menu. Once you’re done making edits to your photo or video, tap on the blue Send button in the bottom-right corner of your screen.
  4. You will now be taken to the Send To… screen. On this screen, you can choose whether you want to put the photo or video up as your Snapchat story or send it to specific people through the app. In addition, if you want to, you can even add a message to be delivered along with the selected photo or video.
  5. Once you have selected how and with whom you want to share the selected photo or video, simply tap on the blue Send button in the bottom-right corner of your screen and the selected photo or video will be send on its way.

With Great Power Comes Great Limitation

While the Memories feature is a gargantuan step in the right direction, it is far from flawless and omnipotent. There are a couple of caveats to using the Memories feature to share locally stored photos or videos to Snapchat.

  • Snapchat has a 10-second limit on videos – If you try uploading a video that is longer than 10 seconds to Snapchat using the Memories feature, Snapchat won’t be able to successfully edit and share the entirety of the video. The application will, instead, cut that video down to a 10-second clip starting with whatever point of the video you were at while viewing its preview.
  • The photos or videos you upload might not look exactly the same – Every photo or video you upload to Snapchat using the Memories feature might not comply with Snapchat’s standards. If that happens to be the case, Snapchat will import and upload the selected photo or video while trying to keep it as close to the original as the application possibly can, but you might end up seeing a few differences between what you selected and what was ultimately shared on Snapchat. An extremely common example of this is images that were not captured directly through the Snapchat application being cropped and having black edges when they are uploaded to and shared via the social media platform.

Kevin Arrows


Kevin is a dynamic and self-motivated information technology professional, with a Thorough knowledge of all facets pertaining to network infrastructure design, implementation and administration. Superior record of delivering simultaneous large-scale mission critical projects on time and under budget.

Expert Tip

How to Upload Photos or Videos Stored on Your Device to Snapchat

If the issue is with your Computer or a Laptop you should try using Reimage Plus which can scan the repositories and replace corrupt and missing files. This works in most cases, where the issue is originated due to a system corruption. You can download Reimage by clicking the Download button below.

Download Now

I'm not interested

Close