How to Fix This App is no Longer Shared with you on your iPhone/iPad

An error message that has been recently plaguing iPhone and iPad users with is the “This app is no longer shared with you“. As it turns out, the error message appears when you try to use certain apps on your device. One of the great features of Apple is the Family Sharing feature that allows users to share apps that have been bought by a family member. This means that when you buy an application, you can share it with your family members so that they don’t have to buy it as well. This is really great, however, at times you can face issues with this said feature such as the mentioned error message.

This App is no Longer Shared with You

Now, the first thing that you should do when you face this error message is to make sure that the Family Sharing is configured and turned on on the account that is sharing the app. In some cases, the error message can appear just because the feature was mistakenly disabled. For most of the users, the error message started appearing after performing an OS update. Thus, the issue can be associated with a bug in the operating system. In some scenarios, the error can even pop with free applications that do not require the family sharing feature at all. Nonetheless, do not fret.

With that said, there are different ways that you can actually get rid of the error message. Now, some of the methods that we are going to mention might not work for you, so make sure that you go through all of them to ensure a quick resolution. There are actually three ways that you can solve this issue. They are somewhat identical but they have their share of differences. The first option would be to offload the application. Secondly, you can just delete the app and then reinstall it. Finally, another way of fixing this would be to signing out of your iCloud ID and then back in. So, let us get started.

Method 1: Offload the Application 

As it turns out, the first workaround to the said error message is to offload the application. You probably have noticed while going through an app in your device settings that there are actually two options. Offloading is different than deleting an app. The difference being when you offload an application, it gets rid of the application while keeping your data and documents. Thus, when you install the application, you still have your files and they are not lost. Follow the instructions below to offload the culprit application:

  1. First of all, go to your device Settings.
  2. Then, on the Settings screen, go to your device storage i.e. iPhone Storage or iPad Storage.
  3. After that, locate the app that is showing the error message and then tap on it.
  4. Once done, click on the Offload App option. This will remove the app while keeping your data and documents safe.
    Offloading an App
  5. Once the app has been offloaded, tap on the Reinstall App option to install it again.
  6. See if that fixes the issue for you.

Method 2: Delete the App

In some cases, offloading an application may not fix your issue. This has been reported by some users and thus you will have to completely delete the app and then install it again. Doing so will also remove your documents and other files so make sure you have backed up anything important. With that said, follow the instructions below to delete an app from your device:

  1. The procedure is the same as above. Go to your device Settings.
  2. On the Settings screen, go to General and then make your way to the device’s storage.
  3. From there, locate the application and then tap on it.
  4. Finally, click on the Delete App option to completely remove the application from your device.
    Deleting an App
  5. Once you have done that, install the application again to see if the issue has been resolved.

Method 3: Sign out of iCloud

Finally, if the above two solutions do not work out for you, then in such a case you will have to sign out of your iCloud account. This has to be done after deleting the culprit application. Follow the instructions down below to do so:

  1. First of all, delete the culprit application by going into Settings and then the device’s storage.
  2. In case you have already done that, on the Settings screen, scroll down and then go to iTunes and App Store.
  3. There, your Apple ID connected to the App Store will be displayed.
  4. Now, in order to sign out, tap on the Apple ID option. This will bring up a new dialog box with many more options. Here, just tap on Sign out.
    Sign Out of Apple ID
  5. After that, power off your device and then power it back on.
  6. Once the device is back on, go to Settings again.
  7. Tap on the Sign in to your iPhone option.
    iPhone Settings
  8. Provide the credentials to complete the sign in.
  9. After you have signed in, go to the App Store and download the app you deleted earlier again.
  10. See if that fixes the issue.
Kevin Arrows
Kevin is a dynamic and self-motivated information technology professional, with a Thorough knowledge of all facets pertaining to network infrastructure design, implementation and administration. Superior record of delivering simultaneous large-scale mission critical projects on time and under budget.

Expert Tip

How to Fix This App is no Longer Shared with you on your iPhone/iPad

If the issue is with your Computer or a Laptop you should try using Restoro which can scan the repositories and replace corrupt and missing files. This works in most cases, where the issue is originated due to a system corruption. You can download Restoro by clicking the Download button below.

Download Now

I'm not interested