How to Stop Google From Saving Your Search History

Whenever you execute a Google search on any device that you are logged into with your Google account – such as an Android Smartphone that you are logged into or an instance of Google Chrome on a computer that you are logged into – Google, by default, saves the search to its servers. Google keeps track of all the Google searches made while you are logged into your Google account regardless of what device you are using and, along with other bits of data such as your total searches, top search queries and top websites clicked on from search results, aims to use them to better the Google search engine and refine your user experience by providing you with custom-tailored search results.

However, while most of you would appreciate what Google is trying to do and would trust Google with this information, many would not look very kindly towards Google holding a little black book containing everything you’ve ever ran a Google search for and the websites you most commonly click on from Google search results. Google gives you full control over what it does with your information, and since that is the case, you can clear your Google search history quite easily. Listed below are the steps you need to follow in order to clear and stop the Google search history of your entire account. Please note that you can perform the steps listed below on any device – a computer, an Android Smartphone or Tablet or an iPhone or iPad – and while using any browser – Google Chrome or any other desktop or mobile browser – and the results would still be the same, i.e. the Google search history of your entire Google account will be wiped from Google’s servers.

Since this history is saved on Google’s Servers; it does not clear your local browsers search history. To clear local history you can use CCleaner on your OS X or Computer.

clear google search history

Go to the Web & Activity page of your Google account. When you click on the link, you may be asked to log into your Google account. If the browser you are using asks you to do so, please log in.

When the Web & Activity page of your Google account, you will be presented with an entire log of everything you have searched for on Google on any device while logged into your Google account. In the top right corner of the browser tab, click on the three vertical dots button – this is the Menu

Click on Delete or Delete options.

Click on Advanced.

Expand on the contextual dropdown menu and click on All time.

Click on Delete.

Following the steps listed above will successfully delete your Google account’s entire Google search history. If you want to delete only specific items from your account’s Google search history, simply locate and select the items you want to delete from your search history and click on Delete in the top right corner of the browser tab and then on Delete in the contextual popup.

Tip 1: To view and then delete your Google account’s search history from a specific date, click on the Calendar button in the top right corner of the Web & Activity page. If you want to delete the entire search history from a specific day, simply select the day, click on Delete, and then click on Delete again in the contextual popup.

Tip 2: The Web & Activity page also contains logs of all the applications – system or third-party – that have been used on an Android Smartphone or Tablet that you are logged into. If you want, you can also manage these logs from the Web & Activity page.

Tip 3: In the Google app on Android Smartphones and Tablets, your most recent searches are displayed below the Search box. If you wish to delete these searches, simply tap and hold on the search you want to delete and click on Delete > OK. The search will be deleted from the Google app and your Web & Activity page.

Tip 4: If you’re using an iPhone or iPad and simply want to delete the search history from the Google app, simply open the Google app, tap on the Search box, and tap on View search history > Clear All (in the top right corner of the screen) > Clear on-device history. If you do so, your entire search history from the Google app will be deleted, but the search history on your Google account’s Web & Activity page will remain unchanged and unharmed.

Kevin Arrows
Kevin is a dynamic and self-motivated information technology professional, with a Thorough knowledge of all facets pertaining to network infrastructure design, implementation and administration. Superior record of delivering simultaneous large-scale mission critical projects on time and under budget.

Expert Tip

How to Stop Google From Saving Your Search History

If the issue is with your Computer or a Laptop you should try using Restoro which can scan the repositories and replace corrupt and missing files. This works in most cases, where the issue is originated due to a system corruption. You can download Restoro by clicking the Download button below.

Download Now

I'm not interested