The Restricted List on Facebook can be what many people need for their private social life, by keeping the unwanted people off their profiles while they are still on their Facebook friends list. You can add anyone to the ‘Restricted list’ on Facebook, and remove them whenever you feel like it. The number of people that can be added to a restricted list on Facebook has no limitations, which means that you can add as many people to this list as you like.
How Does the Restricted List on Facebook Work
Being on a restricted list on Facebook restricts the content that is shared with this specific friend and all the friends who have been added to this list. They are still your friend on Facebook, but the content they will see will be as limited as possible. You, however, will still be able to see their shares on Facebook, their posts and comments and can also receive messages from them in your inbox for Facebook.
How to Add Someone to a Restricted List
It is very easy to add anyone on the Restricted list. Just follow the steps as mentioned below and you are good to go.
- Sign in to your Facebook account and open the profile for the friend you want to add to the restricted list.
You can notice the arrow in the image above. You need to click on the icon that says ‘friends’. Currently, this is the list that your friend is added in. Clicking on this tab will show you a drop-down list of all the possible lists you can add this friend to, to keep your privacy intact. This is also where you will find the option to unfriend anyone.
Click on the tab that says ‘Add to another list’. Clicking on this will show you more options for lists.
All the lists which show a tick sign next to them are the lists that this specific friend has been added to. On the same dropdown list, you need to scroll down till you find the tab for ‘Restricted list’.
- Just click on this list once, and a tick sign will appear right before the tab, ensuring that the friend has been added to this list.
- And that is it! You have successfully added a friend to the restricted list.
You can follow the same steps for all the friends you want to add to this list.
What Content on Facebook Will the Restricted List See?
We can say that anything that you post on your profile with the settings for a public profile, will be visible to the people on your restricted list. But since many people hardly post stuff on public privacy settings, the friends on a restricted list cannot see much of your posts and shares, unless and until they have been tagged in it or have been mentioned in the caption or the comments of that picture.
You can identify the difference in the audience of your posts by the globe sign that appears, which means that the setting for this post is publicly visible to all, while when it shows an icon which looks like an outline of two men, the setting for this post is just for friends. And the content for such posts is not visible to the people on the restricted list.
So until and unless you have tagged them, you don’t have to worry about them looking at your posts on Facebook.
Your Friends Will Never Know They Are on the Restricted List
The list we add our friends on, on Facebook, is something between us and Facebook. Our friends will never be informed about the lists they have been added to directly. Even if they are on the restricted list, they will never know this unless you tell them of course. So if you are worried about people getting to know that they have been added on the restricted list, then you need not worry because they will literally never know which list they are on.
How to Remove Someone from a Restricted List?
The process to add someone to the restricted list, and to remove someone from the restricted list is the same.
- Go to the profile of the friend on Facebook.
- Click on the tab that says ‘Friends’.
- Click on Add another list.
- Scroll down, and click on the Restricted list. The tick on restricted list will disappear, which confirms the removal of your friend from this list.