Tech

WhatsApp Now Allows You To Send Self Destructing Messages From Your Android Phone

Although WhatsApp does not offer many features that you may find in many other messaging applications, billions of people still prefer using it.

Facebook initially acquired WhatsApp back in 2014 and the company has added many useful features since then. WhatsApp has tested many interesting features such as animated stickers, looped videos, profile QR codes, fingerprint unlock and more.

Now it seems like the company is going to add another interesting feature to the application. The Beta version of the application now allows you to send disappearing messages to others. The functionality is currently available to Android users running Beta v2.19.275.

The basic concept behind disappearing messages is that such messages will disappear from your chat history after a specified time period. These messages will disappear in 5 seconds or 60 minutes. At the time of writing this article, the feature is only available for group chats.

For those who are wondering, it is a handy feature for situations when you need to send sensitive information in a group. By the look of things, Facebook is trying to bring many useful features from other apps, as a similar feature is already available in Telegram.

Send Disappearing Messages On WhatsApp For Android

First and foremost, you need to download WhatsApp Beta for Android version 2.19.275. As you can see in the screenshot, you can find this feature in the Group settings. Disappearing messages option is disabled by default and you are required to enable it manually.

Enable Disappearing Messages
Credits: WABetaInfo

A pop-up window allows you to select a time duration from two options i.e either 5 seconds or 1 hour. Once you have enabled the new option, all the messages that are sent will automatically disappear. It is worth mentioning that the functionality of the disappearing message is different as compared to the existing delete for all feature.

 Disappearing Messages
Credits: WABetaInfo

In case of the delete for all, the group members find out that a message is deleted by the sender. However, as far as the disappearing messages are concerned, these messages don’t leave any signs for others.

The feature is still in experimental stages and currently limited to a subset of users. It remains to be seen if the company plans to extend the functionality to private chats. We hope that the disappearing messages will be publically available very soon.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Close