Rainbow Six Siege Operation Shifting Tides Launches Today, BOSG ACOG Confirmed

Following an intensive testing phase, Ubisoft has finally revealed the launch date for Rainbow Six Siege’s next season. Operation Shifting Tides goes live on all platforms on Tuesday, December 3rd. The deployment schedule of the new update is as follows:

  • PC: 9:00 AM EST / 14:00 UTC
  • PlayStation 4: 10:00 AM EST / 15:00 UTC
  • Xbox One: 11:00 AM EST / 16:00 UTC

Although the initial patch notes released with the launch of Shifting Tides on the test servers covered majority of the additions, several additional changes were also made. Specifically, the pre-season designer notes blog detailed the balance changes coming in the next patch.

BOSG ACOG

The most notable change is arguably the addition of an ACOG for the BOSG slug shotgun. The initial announcement came as a surprise, and Ubisoft refrained from revealing their thinking process behind this decision. However, the developer has now confirmed that the change was a “pure balancing decision”.

“Adding the ACOG to 707th SMB Operator shotgun was mostly motivated by the low performance of the weapon. Even if part of the community was also looking forward to the addition of the ACOG, it remained a pure balancing decision. This new sight should not affect the overall performance of this weapon.”

Jackal Change

The other significant balance change coming in Shifting Tides is a change to Jackal’s gadget. Starting next season, the number of pings generated by the Eyenox will be determined by the age of the scanned footprint. Ubisoft hopes that this change should address Jackal’s “high source of frustration” which is evident from his high ban rate.

Additionally, Shifting Tides brings about a change to limb penetration. You can read up on the exact changes here, but in short, this change should “increase the lethality of various classes of weapons in certain situations.”

Operation Shifting Tides, alongside Kali, Wamai, and the Theme Park map rework, goes live later today on all platforms. The new operators will be exclusively available to season pass holders for one week, after which all players can unlock them with renown.


Close