Known Folder Move Feature will let Users Send Files to OneDrive with a Single Button

Engineers over in Redmond are rolling out a new one-button option that might make it easier for users to send files directly to their One Drive account. Known Folder Move, as Microsoft has been calling the feature, moves the contents of a directory into a container on an attached OneDrive for Business storage account. While the option is currently only offered as a preview, the fact that it works with older operating systems is rather impressive.

Users of PCs running Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 should be able to take advantage of the feature by the end of July at the earliest, which is the same time that Windows 10 users will receive the full release. Microsoft has been trying to encourage users of these systems to migrate to Windows 10 for some time, and systems on extended support channels generally don’t receive new features.

If the final version of Known Folder Move does indeed support 7 and 8.1, then it might be a move to aid enterprise-level users who can’t take mission-critical systems offline for upgrades just yet.

Office 365 installations that are assigned to receive targeted release or test release updates should be able to start using the feature early next week at the latest, though there might be some bugs that Microsoft’s development teams haven’t been able to work out yet.

Windows and Office Insider Program members might also be able to get access to the feature early in the week.

Administrators can enable Known Folder Move buttons through the Group Policy sheet, and they can even compel regular user accounts to move files through the button by policy. When this is enabled, end-users will receive a dialog box urging them to protect their folders by backing them up.

Users who agree to start protection, as Microsoft has worded the box, will start to sync directories straight to OneDrive. This should prove useful in corporate environments with multiple user configurations where not everyone gets an opportunity to back things up.

It should also give those with accounts on these systems the freedom to access their files regardless of which machine they’re currently working from. Files would eventually sync across connected accounts to prevent data from getting out of date.


Tags

John Rendace


John is a GNU/Linux expert with a hobbyist's background in C/C++, Web development, storage and file system technologies. In his free time, he maintains custom and vintage PC hardware. He's been compiling his own software from source since the DOS days and still prefers using the command line all these years later.
Close