Google Adds New Feature To Photos App: Users Can Now See How Long They Have To Restore Any Deleted Image

Google Photos is possibly a Godsend when you think about it. The idea that all your photos can be stored on the cloud without you having to do anything technical is amazing. Besides, you don’t even need to get a subscription. If you just care about preserving the memories and not the quality (it is in standard definition) then its definitely a good thing. Even with Google’s plan, it is one of the top options out there. Google always pays good attention to its apps. It makes sure to update them with what the user may find useful, not just full of features. This includes categorising photos where Google’s face detection is unmatched.

Now though, according to an article from 9to5Google states, the company has added a new feature. This was first spotted by the folks over at Android Police. The update, although not a huge one, is actually quite interesting.

You would be intrigued to know that Google doesn’t really delete the photos you remove immediately. Instead, these remain on Google’s server for 60 days. Users can now have the option to go into the “Trash” folder and see which photos they deleted and how many days till they may be able to retrieve them. This is actually a great concept and although Apple has been doing this since the revamp of the photos app, it is most certainly welcome here. Apart from that, this also helps users retrieve photos they may have accidentally deleted. The feature is not a rolling one and is part of the Google Photos App version 4.51. You may want to download it to use it now.

Sarmad Burki
Sarmad Burki is a Mathematician and a Economist with a passion for all things gaming and tech. His academics and professional experience combined with tech and gaming adds to his skills giving him a unique ability to observe the tech and gaming industry from various prespectives.